R.I.P., My 30GB iPod

My 4th generation 30GB iPod is dead, it’s hard drive busted after being dropped. I had it for a year and a half. It will be missed.

I have to say I’m a little peeved that a minor fall rendered this almost $300 device useless. I’d even bought a silicon case for it, but that obviously didn’t help. At any rate, Steve Jobs and co. need to work on this major flaw. Of course, had I owned one of the flash-drive nanos, this wouldn’t have happened.

On the bright side, it’s the holidays, and a good excuse to possibly upgrade to the video-capable iPod, which cost as much now as the video-less unit above did when it originally bought it. Or maybe it’s time to wait until next year, when the rumored widescreen version finally pops.

Meanwhile, maybe a nano or a new shuffle will do. And I’ll have a big swig of Apple kool-aid to drink with it, as well …

Leave a Reply

