Coming Full Circle: On Journalism Careers at the Arkansas High School Press Association

pf_dbWow. I’m so old.

Today, I’m on a panel on careers in journalism for the annual convention of the Arkansas High School Press Association at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock. And it’s so weird — it was only a few years ago that I attended the AHSPA convention as an actual high school student!

How long ago was that? Consider that I won an AHSPA on-site competition award for my review of Pink Floyd’s new album, “The Division Bell.” My verdict: A cool “tape.” I hadn’t even heard “Dark Side of the Moon” yet. Naive!

Yep, times were simpler back in the early ’90s, when journalism involved awkward word processing PCs and wax for paste-up. Anyone remember those rolls of hairline tape you used to separate the news briefs column from the nameplate? And the Internet? That was something weird my friend’s mom used a “modem” to access with something called “CompuServe.”

Anyway. Back to the topic at hand. I’ll be joined on the panel by Frank Fellone of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette and freelance journo Suzi Parker (who SBB, BTW). And feel free to walk out if any of us start talking about the way it was “back in the day.” Man I hate that.

6 Responses

  1. […] hit the speakers circuit! In Little Rock, the kids smiled, nodded and otherwise humored me. At ASU, more of the same! Meanwhile, Twin Towers […]

  2. […] hit the speakers circuit! In Little Rock, the kids smiled, nodded and otherwise humored me. At ASU, more of the same! Meanwhile, Twin Towers […]

  3. Lance,
    Is there a website for AHSPA? There’s a chance I will be taking over my school’s Journalism Dept. next year and I would like to start collecting information for contest entry, but I can’t find anything on the web for AHSPA.

    –and don’t feel so old…The Division Bell hadn’t been released yet when I was competing at the AHSPA convention.

    • I’ll have to check, Tony. I looked for one but couldn’t find it. I’ll contact one of my ASU journalism professors involved in AHSPA and see if he can help us.

  4. Dear Lnce,

    Are you THE Lance Turner who went to North Pulaski High School? I am Becky Rogers, and I believe that if so, I was your English teacher. I too am looking for a website for AHSPA. I will explain later.

Leave a Reply

